About the Deanery

Welcome to the Pontypridd Deanery

The Pontypridd Deanery crosses the South Wales Valleys, north of the M4 motorway. It includes the valleys of Rhondda Fach and Rhondda Fawr, Upper Cynon, Taff, Merthyr and Rhymney, embracing the Parishes of Llantrisant (Miskin), Treforest, Rhondda (Tonypandy, Ynyshir, Treorchy, Ferndale), Abercynon, Upper Cynon (Aberdare, Mountain Ash, Hirwaun), Merthyr Tydfil (inc. Merthyr Vale), Bargoed, and Caerphilly.


The Statue to Our Lady of Penrhys


To the south of the Deanery are the Deaneries of Cardiff, to the south-east, Newport; to the north-east North Gwent; to the west, Bridgend; and to the north the Heads of the Valleys.

The Catholic Faith in this area was established in the 6th Century, by the Patron Saint of Wales, St David, and by St Dyfrig, St Teilo and St Euddogwy. Most place names prefixed with “Llan” refer to Welsh Saints (in the case of Llantrisant, three saints!).

We hope you enjoy your visit to this attractive area of Wales and find the Mass times convenient for you. Mass times, and directions, can be found in the sections for each of the Eucharistic communities. You will find our people welcoming, hospitable and kind and always prepared to be of help in any way they can. May God bless you, and may you travel safely on our roads and highways. Thank you for visiting us.


Website © 2008 Pontypridd Roman Catholic Deanery
For any Enquiries Contact Us
Pontypridd Deanery is part of the RC Archdiocese of Cardiff, UK Registered Charity No. 242380.